Sorry Baby, it’s not going to work out between us.

I’ve said it a thousand times and I’ll say it again, I love Chin Chin AND i love Italian food. So when I discovered the Chin Chin team were opening an Italian restaurant? Well let’s just say it was a happy day in JP Land.

Image

So my Chin Chin partner-in-crime & I ventured to Richmond a couple of days after Baby opened to the public. After only being open for a few days, this place is already drawing massive crowds and we had a 2 hour wait ahead of us. Being accustomed to this at Baby’s big brother in the city, we went down the road and had a beverage and good old chin wag until the table was ready.

The place was buzzing when we were seated and there are a lot of similarities between the two restaurants. It was evident from the get go that Baby’s not trying to be authentic, but unfortunately, even with this in mind, it missed the mark for me.

To start we ordered the Arancini balls and the Mixed meat antipasti plate. Admittedly the selection of cured meats was delicious. However the waiter couldn’t name all of the components, told us he would return and let us know, and although he came back a few times throughout the evening, we never found out what the meats were. Sorry, big no no.

Image

Mixed Meat Antipasti

Image

Mixed Arancini & Fried Potato – creamy but underwhelming

There’s a lot of links to Chin Chin throughout Baby. From the rather..ahem sexual undertones of the signage to the language lesson in the bathrooms which is like remembering an old friend when meeting someone new….or something to that effect.

I’d recently sampled the amazing 400 Gradi Pizza (see previous post) and wanted to see if Baby could come close to that heaven, so we both went with Pizza for main.

Image

I probably shouldn’t have chosen something so similar to that of the pizza I had devoured at 400 Gradi, but I can never go past spicy anything! I chose the Piccante (San Marzano tomato, Fior di Latte, Hot Salami, Ligurian Olives & chilli).

It was smaller than your regular pizza, and didn’t pack the flavour I was hoping for. For me, the dough was a little too thick, the salami wasn’t cut in a pizza friendly way….a nice pizza, but didn’t really do it for me.

ImageJ chose the Fior di Zucca, a pizza that had been rated well in Baby’s first review in the paper.  This was topped with zucchini flowers, Fior di Latte, anchovies, chilli, parmesan & fresh mint. Overall a very salty pizza.

Something odd happened at the end of the meal. I did NOT finish my pizza. I repeat, I did NOT finish. This has never happened to me before. I’d love to say it was because my mother taught me to always finish my meal, but I think I should just be diagnosed with portion control issues as previously mentioned.

The pizza, whilst yum, wasn’t special, so I didn’t really see the point in finishing it. And my sentiments were shared by my dining partner who also didn’t finish his.

I would have loved to have loved you Baby. It could have been great. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t bad, just wasn’t fantastic. In a city where food is king, you have to excel. Baby you’ve got a hot brother so you’ll continue to pull, but I don’t think we will be seeing each other any time soon.

 6/10

Baby Cafe & Pizzeria on Urbanspoon

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

